Engineering Professors’ Council Patron receives prestigious award

Congratulations to Professor Dame Julia King, Vice Chancellor of Aston University and Patron of the Engineering Professors’ Council on the award of the Leonardo da Vinci Medal by the European Society for Engineering Education (SEFI).  The medal is awarded annually to an individual for an outstanding contribution to Engineering Education.  Professor King received the medal at the recent SEFI Conference, which was recently hosted by the University of Birmingham , under the theme ‘Educating Engineers for Global Competitiveness’.  Professor King, received the award from Professor Kamel Hawwash of the University of Birmingham, who is the current President of SEFI and a committee member of the Engineering Professors’ Council.

Commenting on the award, Professor Hawwash said “SEFI is delighted to award this prestigious medal to Professor Dame Julia King.  She is only the second female engineer to have received this honour and joins 28 other winners of the medal including , Mr. Jacques Delors (France), Sir Monty Finniston (United Kingdom), Sir Robert Telford (United Kingdom), H.R.H. Prince Friso van Oranje-Nassau (The Netherlands), Prof. Dr. Konrad Osterwalder, Rector of the United Nations University (Switzerland), Mr. Luis Ingnacio Lula da Silva (former President of Brazil) and last year in Leuven the astronaut and great ambassador for STEM Dr. Franck De Winne (Belgium)”.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Related articles
Visitors' centre sign

RAEng Visiting Professors Scheme 2023: applications open

Each year the Royal Academy of Engineering provides funding to universities for visiting professors from the engineering sector to support...

Prof David Harrison

Tributes to Prof David Harrison, Honorary Secretary of the EPC

It is with great sadness that we share the news of the death yesterday of Prof David Harrison, the Honorary...


EPC staff member honoured

The EPC's Policy & Research Manager, Stella Fowler, has been granted the title Honorary Research Fellow by UCL


Our patrons and previous presidents

Dates of previous presidents, Congress venues and President’s Prize winners: Date President* Congress venue President’s Prize Winner 2001-03 Prof Bill...

Let us know what you think of our website