20th Anniversary Awards 2016 – Back to the Future

The Engineering Professors' Council is delighted to announce the winning entries in the 2016 20th Anniversary Awards. The prizes were presented at the EPC Congress 2016 dinner on Monday 5th September 2016.

Please do take a look at the proceedings from the prize-giving ceremony. Simply click on a tab to expand, and find out more. If you would like to learn more about the EPC Congress 2016 click here. 

Expand the sections below to view photographs of the winners receiving their prizes.

Andrew Popadynec

Jon Runyon

Abdul Basit Ghias

Winners: Group photo






1st prize: Jon Runyon Cardiff University

Runner-up prize: Andrew Popadynec Coventry University

Runner-up prize: George Anderson University of Southampton

Highly Commended prize: Abdul Basit Ghias University of Glasgow

The Engineering Professors’ Council, in collaboration with the Incorporation of Hammermen of Glasgow, is once again offering its 20th Anniversary Award for students of member universities.

For 2016, we are offering prizes in two categories:

Individual award: winner receives £500

Submissions should be in the form of a 2,000 word essay on the topic: “Back to the future…if I knew then what I know now. Six things I’d tell my primary school self about what it means to be an engineer…

Team award: winning team shares £1,000

Submissions should be in the form of a 1,500 word essay accompanied by illustrative 90 second video on the topic: “Back to the future: hoverboards and humanoids: today’s engineers’ predictions for tomorrow’s technology

A minimum of two and maximum of four people may enter as a team.

All engineering students – both undergraduate and postgraduate – are welcome to enter either category

Winners will also be invited to present their work at the Engineering Professors’ Council Congress in September 2016.

Related articles

The experience of disabled doctoral students: survey

Survey participation request: The experience of disabled doctoral students The experience of disabled doctoral students (including neurodiverse students and students...


EPC Engineering Enrolments Survey Results 2022/23

The results of the 2022 EPC Engineering Enrolments Survey are now available. Deep dive the results through our members-only Data...


Our patrons and previous presidents

Dates of previous presidents, Congress venues and President’s Prize winners: Date President* Congress venue President’s Prize Winner 2001-03 Prof Bill...

Let us know what you think of our website