20th Anniversary Awards 2016 – Back to the Future

EPC Congress 2016

The Engineering Professors’ Council is delighted to announce the winning entries in the 2016 20th Anniversary Awards. The prizes were presented at the EPC Congress 2016 dinner on Monday 5th September 2016.

1st prize: Jon Runyon Cardiff University
Runner-up prize: Andrew Popadynec Coventry University
Runner-up prize: George Anderson University of Southampton
Highly Commended prize: Abdul Basit Ghias University of Glasgow


Jon Runyon

Andrew Popadynec


Abdul Basit Ghias










The Engineering Professors’ Council, in collaboration with the Incorporation of Hammermen of Glasgow, is once again offering its 20th Anniversary Award for students of member universities.

For 2016, we are offering prizes in two categories:

Individual award: winner receives £500

Submissions should be in the form of a 2,000 word essay on the topic:

Back to the future…if I knew then what I know now. Six things I’d tell my primary school self about what it means to be an engineer…

Team award: winning team shares £1,000

Submissions should be in the form of a 1,500 word essay accompanied by illustrative 90 second video on the topic:

Back to the future: hoverboards and humanoids: today’s engineers’ predictions for tomorrow’s technology

A minimum of two and maximum of four people may enter as a team.

All engineering students – both undergraduate and postgraduate – are welcome to enter either category.

Winners will also be invited to present their work at the Engineering Professors’ Council Congress  in September 2016.

Closing date: the deadline has now passed.