20th Anniversary Awards 2015

The Engineering Professors' Council is delighted to announce that the 2015 prize of £1,000 for the best student essay and video on the subject of “Can engineers make a beneficial contribution to society?” (sponsored by the Incorporation of Hammermen of Glasgow) was presented to first year MEng student Tim Butterfield of the University of Sheffield and the runner-up prize (of £500) to PhD candidate Adrian Mallory of the University of Edinburgh during its annual Congress at the University of Salford on 14th April.

Please do take a look at winning entries. Simply click on a tab to expand, and find out more. If you would like to learn more about the EPC Congress 2015 click here. 

Expand the sections below to view the winning essays, presentations and videos.

First prize winner: Tim Butterfield

Tim impressed the assembled delegates at Congress with his presentation outlining the themes of his essay: “Connect, Supply, Protect” – you can read the essay for yourself here and his presentation slides are available here. Now watch the video…



Runner-up: Adrian Mallory

Adrian’s essay focused on the role of engineers in achieving the UN’s Millennium Development Goals and in particular, ensuring environmental sustainability and halving the number of people without access to water and sanitation.  Read his submission.

And now watch the video…

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Related articles
Apple for the teacher

Stemming the shortage

The shortage in STEM teachers – particularly in Physics – has reached a crisis and it threatens to undermine Engineering departments,...


The experience of disabled doctoral students: survey

Survey participation request: The experience of disabled doctoral students The experience of disabled doctoral students (including neurodiverse students and students...


EPC Engineering Enrolments Survey Results 2022/23

The results of the 2022 EPC Engineering Enrolments Survey are now available. Deep dive the results through our members-only Data...


Our patrons and previous presidents

Dates of previous presidents, Congress venues and President’s Prize winners: Date President* Congress venue President’s Prize Winner 2001-03 Prof Bill...

Let us know what you think of our website