Committee 2016/17

The Engineering Professors’ Council is a Company Limited by Guarantee registered in England & Wales under number 06791295.  Its Memorandum and Articles of Association are available here.

The Committee consists of 4 honorary officers and 7 elected members.  Convenors of the three universities which have hosted, or are about to host, the Annual Congresses are also members.

The Chairs of the Engineering Sectoral Groups and recent past Presidents are co-opted if they are not already elected members of the Committee. The Committee is supported by the Executive Director and an administrator who also attend Committee meetings.  It oversees the work of a number of sub-Committees and working groups, details of which may be found here.

Rules for election to Committee (.pdf)

Honorary Officers

Professor Stephanie Haywood University of Hull
Vice President (President Elect)
Professor Sarah Spurgeon University College London
Honorary Secretary
Professor David Harrison  Glasgow Caledonian University
Honorary Treasurer
Professor Jim Yip


Elected Members

Professor John Mitchell University College London
Professor Mike Sutcliffe Kingston University
Professor Barry Lennox University of Manchester
Professor Tanya Vladimirova University of Leicester
Professor Mike Blundell Coventry University
Professor John Dear Imperial College London
Professor Alison Hodge Aston University


Co-opted Members

Professor Peter Excell (representative for Wales) Glyndwr University
Professor John Davies (representative for Scotland) University of Glasgow
Professor Colin Turner (representative for Northern Ireland) Ulster University
Professor Tony Unsworth Durham University
Professor Barry Clarke University of Leeds
Professor Helen Atkinson University of Leicester

Sub Committee Chairs/Vice-Chairs

Recruitment and Admissions
Professor Mike Bramhall Sheffield Hallam University
Dr Geoff Parks (Entry to Engineering in Higher Education Advisory Panel) University of Cambridge
Dr Georgina Harris (Recruitment Working Group) Manchester Metropolitan University
Engineering Education, Employability and Skills
Dr Henri Huijberts Queen Mary, University of London
Research, Innovation and Knowledge Transfer
Professor Eann Patterson University of Liverpool


Annual Congress Convenors

Professor Jim Yip University of Salford
Dr Jesper Christenson Coventry University
Professor Stephanie Haywood University of Hull


Sectoral Group Chairs

Professor Linda Newnes University of Bath
Professor Clive Neal-Sturgess University of Birmingham
Scott Arthur Heriot Watt University
Professor Carsten Maple Warwick University
Professor John Senior Hertfordshire University
Dr Thurai Rahulan University of Salford
Professor Elaine Martin University of Leeds



Professor John Watson Scottish Deans of Science & Engineering/Robert Gordon University