EPC people


President: Professor Sarah Spurgeon OBE FREng: Sarah SpurgeonSarah Spurgeon is currently Professor of Control Engineering and Head of the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at University College London. She is President of the Institute of Measurement and Control for the years 2015-16 where she is Chair of the Accreditation Committee.

Having served as an elected member of the Engineering Professors’ Council Executive Committee, Sarah is currently Chair of its Research, Innovation and Knowledge Transfer sub Committee.

A Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, she is also a member of the EPSRC’s Engineering Strategic Advisory Team (SAT) and a Board Member of EngineeringUK.  For REF 2014, she was a member of the Sub Panel 15 for General Engineering.

Sarah’s research interests are in the area of systems modelling and analysis, robust control and estimation in which areas she has published over 270 refereed research papers. She was awarded the Honeywell International Medal for ‘distinguished contribution as a control and measurement technologist to developing the theory of control’ in 2010 and an IEEE Millennium Medal in 2000. She is currently a member of the Council of the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC) and a member of the General Assembly of the European Control Association. Within the UK she is an independent member of the Defence Scientific Advisory Council (DSAC) which provides independent advice to the Secretary of State for Defence on science, technology, engineering, analysis and mathematics matters.

Vice President

Vice-President (Immediate Past President): Professor Stephanie Haywood:
 prof_stephanie-haywood2010-11 (2)Professor Haywood joined the University of Hull in 1996 from University College London and became Professor of Optoelectronic Engineering in 1999. She has broad experience from a variety of different institutions in the UK and Europe (including Oxford University, Middlesex University, UCL, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and IMEC Belgium) and has also worked in industry for Lucas Advanced Engineering (now TRW).  At Hull, Stephanie was Head of Engineering from 2004 to 2008 and Deputy Dean for Research from 2009-2011. Since 2010 she has been Director of the Centre for Adaptive Science and Sustainability, an industry-focussed research centre, working on renewable energy and low carbon projects. As part of this role, she took up a Royal Academy of Engineering Industry secondment working with the Spencer Group who wish to develop associated relevant links with academia in both research and teaching.  Locally, Stephanie is on the board of HETA (Humberside Engineering Training Association), which trains apprentices for major local companies and has been active in developing part-time progression routes through to CEng and in developing new Foundation degrees.

Stephanie has been on the EPSRC peer review panel for many years and a reviewer for the US National Science Foundation and the EU. She has chaired the national committee of PHEE, a sectoral group of EPC, from 2008 and served as a member of the 2014 REF Sub Panel 15 for General Engineering.

Hon Treasurer

Honorary Treasurer: Professor Jim Yip BSc PhD CITP FBCS CEng FIMechE FHEA: Professor Yip is a former Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation and Dean of the College of Science & Technology at the University of Salford. Prior to this, he was Dean of the Schools of Computing at the Universities of Huddersfied and Teesside and Head of the School of Informatics and Multimedia Technology at the University of North London, Professor Yip began his career working as a Research Engineer at TI Research. He followed this with a period as a Research Associate at the University of Manchester’s Medical School then returned to the private sector to work again as a Research Engineer with Intelligent Systems Solutions Limited. His research interests encompass Artificial Intelligence, Knowledge Systems, Knowledge Engineering, Knowledge Management, Knowledge Representation and Knowledge/Data Fusion.

Hon Secretary

Honorary Secretary: Professor David Harrison:  Professor Harrison began his career as an Apprentice Engineer with Fodens Limited, the Sandbach based manufacturer of commercial vehicles. He went on to complete a BSc (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering which included a 15 month secondment with Ernest Scragg & Sons Ltd, manufacturers of Textile Machinery where he led a large factory layout rationalisation scheme. Upon graduation he completed an MSc in Manufacturing Technology during which time he delivered a novel instrument for aiding machine tool investment decisions. He then joined the Microwave Division of Ferranti Ltd as the Production Engineering Manager and was involved with the packaging of electronic communication devices for military air, sea and land applications. He next received an invitation to undertake a fully funded industry based PhD with SIMON-Vicars Ltd which was concerned with the implementation and optimisation of CADCAM within the company. David gained his PhD from the University of Manchester and also joined the Staff at UMIST from where he transferred to Staffordshire University. In 1994 he was promoted to Professor when he joined the Staff of the Department of Engineering at Glasgow Caledonian University where he has held a number of roles. He is currently Head of Research & Knowledge Transfer within the School of Engineering and Computing.

Chief Executive

Johnny RichChief Executive: Johnny Rich:  As well as his role with the EPC, Johnny Rich is well known across the higher education sector as a high-profile commentator on policy issues as well as the chief executive of student advice and outreach organisation Push, as a consultant working in education and careers, and as an author.

Before joining the EPC, Johnny has already worked on many issues of concern to our members. Over the past 25 years, he led Push’s research – such as on drop-out rates and student debt – which has had direct impacts on policy. Meanwhile, Johnny’s thought leadership, such as his 2015 paper on employability for the Higher Education Policy Institute, has been influential throughout the sector.

As a director of the Higher Education Academy, Johnny is committed to enhancing teaching excellence, and he also brings an international perspective through his work as a member of the delivery consortium for U-Multirank, a European Commission-funded initiative which provides a global comparison tool for HE.

Follow Johnny on Twitter at @JohnnySRich or on LinkedIn.