COMEH Committee 2


The COMEH Committee consists of a Chair, Deputy Chair, Treasurer, Secretary and members drawn from across universities in the UK.


John-SeniorDr Linda Newnes, University of Bath (

Telephone   +44 (0)1225 386291

Dr Newnes is Head of Costing Research within the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  Her research focuses on through life costing from concept design through to the in-service/in-use phases.  The sectors/application areas for her activities include for example; aerospace, defence, oil & gas, water and  medical device design.

Typical industrial linked projects, which illustrate her current research include;

  • Costing for Avionic Through life Availability (CATA)
  • Uncertainty in Through Life Costing.
  • In-Service Cost Estimating feedback to the concept design cost modelling process
  • Modelling and managing uncertainty in the bidding process for in-service contracts – probability of winning the contract and making a profit!
  • Optimisation between performance and cost

Deputy Chair

Professor Keith Case, Loughborough University

Keith Case is Professor of Computer Aided Engineering in Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering at Loughborough University and is a Chartered Engineer, Fellow of the Ergonomics Society and a Fellow of the British Computer Society. He is also director of SAMMIE CAD Limited a company that develops and markets the digital human modelling tool SAMMIE.
In 1994 he received the Ergonomics Society Otto Edholm Award in recognition of his significant contribution to the development and application of ergonomics, primarily in the area of digital human modelling.

Current research interests include inclusive design, human aspects of automation, cognitive ergonomics in manufacturing assembly, the ageing workforce, human behavioural modelling, digital human modelling, knowledge-based design and manufacture, feature-based design and process planning.
He is the author of over 300 papers and is publishing a series of books relating to the diaries from the Matabele, Boer and First World Wars.


Professor David Stockton, De Montfort University


Professor Yi Qin, Strathclyde University


Professor James Gao, University of Greenwich (

James Gao holds the Medway Chair of Manufacturing Engineering, and leads the Centre for Innovative Product Development and Manufacturing (iPDM) in the Faculty of Engineering and Science, University of Greenwich. He obtained BSc in mechanical engineering in 1984 from Dalian Institute of Technology (China), MSc in and PhD in advanced manufacturing and digital technologies from the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UK) in 1987 and 1989 respectively. He worked for Loughborough and Cranfield Universities before his current employer. He has over 190 publications and directed a large number of research projects in the areas of information, communication and knowledge management for collaborative product development, manufacturing and servicing across the supply chain. He is a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, and member of the editorial board of several international journals .

Dr Peter Ball, Cranfield University

Dr Peter Ball is a Reader in Manufacturing Operations in the Manufacturing & Materials Department at Cranfield University. He leads Cranfield’s Manufacturing & Materials Doctoral Training Centre and the MSc in Engineering and Management of Manufacturing Systems. Peter’s expertise covers manufacturing system design and operation; simulation modelling of manufacturing, supply chain and engineering service systems; sustainable manufacturing implementation methods and tools. Amongst his current research projects he is co-investigator for the EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing (CIM) in Industrial Sustainability. He is a fellow of the Higher Education Academy (HEA), chartered engineer with the Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) and he serves on the IET’s Design and Production Sector Panel.

Professor Tim Baines, Aston University

Professor Diane Mynors, University of Sussex

Dr Essam Shehab, Cranfield University

Dr Mozafar Saadat, University of Birmingham

Professor David Harrison, Glasgow Caledonian University (

Sameh Saad, Sheffield Hallam University (

Riham Khalil, De Montfort University (

Nick Woodfine, Solent University (

Mehmet Karamanoglu, Middlesex University (

Kai Cheng, Brunel University (

Andrew Thomas, Newport University (

Alan Crispin, Manchester Metropolitan University (