Board 2020/21

The Engineering Professors’ Council is a Company Limited by Guarantee registered in England & Wales under number 06791295.  Its Memorandum and Articles of Association are available here.

The Board consists of 4 honorary officers and 7 elected members.  Convenors of the three universities which have hosted, or are about to host, the Annual Congresses are also members.

The Chairs of the Engineering Sectoral Groups and recent past Presidents are co-opted if they are not already elected members of the Board. The Board is supported by the Chief Executive and a Policy and Research Officer and an administrator who also attend Board meetings.  It oversees the work of a number of Committees and working groups, details of which may be found here.

Rules for election to Board (.pdf)

Honorary Officers

Professor Mike Sutcliffe  TEDI-London
Vice President  and representative for Northern Ireland  
Professor Colin Turner Ulster University
Honorary Secretary  
Professor David Harrison  Glasgow Caledonian University
Honorary Treasurer  
Professor Stephanie Haywood  


Elected Members

Professor Stefaan Simons Brunel University London
Dr Lisa Brodie University of the West of England
Professor Dave Allan NMiTE
Professor Mike Bramhall Sheffield Hallam University
Professor Carsten Maple Warwick University
Greg Rowsell Harper Adams University
Steve Faulkner London South Bank University


Co-opted Members

Professor Mike Fernando (representative for Wales) University of Wales Trinity St David
Professor Tony Unsworth Durham University
Professor Helen Atkinson Cranfield University 
Professor Simon Hodgson Teesside University
Dr Andrew McLaren (representative for Scotland) University of Strathclyde
Professor Sarah Spurgeon University College London

Committee Chairs/Vice-Chairs

Recruitment and Admissions  
Richard Morgan University of Wales Trinity St Davids
Steve Bullock University of Bristol
Entry to Engineering in Higher Education Advisory Panel  
Dr Geoff Parks University of Cambridge
Engineering Education, Employability and Skills  
Dr Georgina Harris University of Salford
Professor Mike Sutcliffe TEDI-London
Research, Innovation and Knowledge Transfer  
Professor Andy Alderson Sheffield Hallam University
To be agreed To be agreed


Annual Congress Convenors

Professor Catherine Hobbs University of the West of England
Professor Mike Bramhall Sheffield Hallam University
Professor John Mitchell University College London


Sectoral Group Chairs

Professor Andrew Thomas University of Aberystwyth COMEH (Manufacturing)
Professor Clive Neal-Sturgess University of Birmingham PHOMME (Mechanical)
Esther Norton Anglia Ruskin University ACED (Civil)
Edmund Robinson Queen Mary University of London CPHC (Computing)
Professor John Senior Hertfordshire University PHEE (Electrical)
Dr Thurai Rahulan University of Salford AAU (Aerospace)
Professor Mark Simmons Birmingham University HCEUK (Chemical)



currently none